Jessica and Yichen

I first want to apologize here for people who may have a confusing time remembering my name at school. I was “Jessica” for the first semester but then I changed back to my real name. I am sure that confused some of my school mates and professors.

I believe lots of Chinese kids got their “English name” from their English teacher at a very young age. I remember I was named “Jessica” when I was eight. Is it weird that I still remember the day that teacher gave us English names. She just randomly tapped on a student’s shoulder and said that you are gonna to be Jack, and you’d be called Mary since next class. And I got “Jessica”. I was happy as a eight-year-old because “Jesscia” looked a little fancier than “Mary” and “Lily”.

This name thing never bothered me until I was about to come to America. Do I need a English name here? Should I go with “Jessica”? I was struggle that I started feeling I’m not “Jessica” but I can’t get the one that just feel right. I don’t even know where I got the image that Jessica should be a blonde and something else that nothing likes me. Awwwkward!!

I started to think this another way when I was having writing class. I always had this introduction line that “you can call me Jessica or Yichen.” The professor then asked, “which on do you prefer us to call you?” I hesitated for a while and told my true feeling. For that class I was Yichen but not Jessica. At that moment, I just realized that I had a really low self-esteem that I let others to decide what they should call me.

This semester, I changed it back. I realize I wouldn’t feel comfortable no matter I am Emma, Eva or Jessica. It just doesn’t feel right.To have a name that you truly identify with is more important than to make others easy to pronounce.

Do you prefer to use your English name or your original name when you’re studying abroad?

5 thoughts on “Jessica and Yichen

Leave a comment